A New Home
 
Welcome to the home for my creative work. I have posted my current work here so far. I will be adding records of my past work and sharing my plans for future projects as I update the site. Enjoy a browse around. Please feel free to come back often. There will surely be something new to explore. 

Dark Secrets Revealed 

 

What does that mean? It means I have found the more digging you do, the more you find the world is full of weird troublesome details, details that when connected, reveal a world that does not work as you expected. Stories you think you know have more to them. Oddities you thought were disparate coincidences turn out to be related. You expect the unexpected to show up in horror, but it is lurking in all genres. It is with this eye toward revealing dark secrets that I approach storytelling. 

Mermaid Steel to be released November 1, 2020

The fantasy romance novel Mermaid Steel will be released by the Water Dragon imprint of Paper Angel Press on November 1, 2020 with cover art by famed painter Lee Moyer. What starts out as a romance quickly becomes an exploration of race relations and the power of love over hatred in this tale of two villages on the brink of war. I am amazed at how topical this story has become in 2020. You are in for a treat!

Publications, Audiobooks 
and Stellar Reviews

 

Paper Angel Press released Goddess Chosen (Book One of the Goddess Rising Series) on August 1, 2019,  Goddess Daughter (Book Two) on December 1, 2019, and Goddess Rising (Book Three) on April 1, 2020. The audiobooks are now available from Audible and Amazon. Trevor Wilson did a wonderful job narrating my world-spanning adventures, accents and all!

 

Links to all the editions and the audiobooks are on the publisher's site https://paperangelpress.com/category/series-books/series-goddess-rising/

Rave reviews are rolling in:

 

Publisher's Weekly said this about Goddess Rising. "Complex characters draw readers into the intricate world of demons and angels, many of whom have multiple names. Desiree's struggle to reconcile her new powers with a strong sense of self is poignant; the cagey Joseph, the ambitious Alec, and the caring Sanantha round out the appealing central cast. Hartlove gives readers a sumptuous fantastical realm for readers to get lost in, a world where ancient Egyptian gods, Celtic spirits, and Catholic saints collide. His ability to suffuse each ancient deity with a distinct personality gives the narrative a delightfully human edge that will keep the pages turning.
Takeaway: Readers who enjoy thought-provoking fantasy will appreciate this complex final installment of Hartlove's urban fantasy trilogy about warring gods.
Great for fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens, Nalini Singh's Archangel series.

The full review is here: https://booklife.com/projectid/3a878530-9ee9-11ea-9fc5-547275647911

Kirkus Reviews had this to say about Goddess Chosen. “Hartlove fashions a riveting blend of history, religion, and horror in this briskly paced series opener. The author balances his ferocious imagination with historical passion. A masterful historical fantasy that informs as well as enthralls.” The full review is at https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/jay-hartlove/goddess-chosen/

Goddess Chosen was originally published as The Chosen in 2011 by Damnation Books. Damnation also published Daughter Cell in 2013. That book is re-released as Goddess Daughter. Damnation went out of business in 2015. Since then, I finished the third book, Goddess Rising, and the fantasy romance Mermaid Steel (which will also be published by Paper Angel Press in November 2020). 

This series tells how the Egyptian goddess Isis seeks revenge on Sammael, the Prince of Liars a.k.a. the Devil, for his sabotage of Exodus. In Goddess Chosen, Isis reincarnates a High Priest to be her champion. His ruthless determination creates a whirlwind of madness and  destruction which ensnares Washington DC importer Charles Redmond. Charles' psychiatrist Sanantha Mauwad tries to save his mind, but can she save his soul? 

 

Sanantha continues as the detective as the saga shifts to Malaysia in Goddess Daughter, and finally to Ireland in Goddess Rising.

Featured Selection

The Rest of the Story You Think You Know

 

Why did the Evil Queen want to kill Snow White instead of arranging a marriage to grow the kingdom? How “happily ever after” could Snow White live after being dead for six months? How did Snow’s father’s die? Who was really behind the mayhem, and are they done?

 

Welcome to The Mirror’s Revenge! Picking up right after the traditional Snow White tale, this sequel plays out events and reveals what was really going on in the first story. Inspired by the Evanescence song, “Bring Me To Life,” this musical production features fourteen original songs which fill in details like who were the dwarves (displaced Kalmyk Buddhist monks), and how did Snow White change the prince’s life?

 

The play and lyrics were written by dark fantasy novelist Jay Hartlove. The melodies and arrangements were written by Celtic rockers Kristoph Klover and Margaret Davis. This is what happens when you get creative people together and no one tells them they can’t write a Broadway-worthy musical. This album is the the soundtrack of that musical. We thank the many talented musicians who generously contributed their voices and time to help us create this dream come true. Look out Broadway!

"Hartlove fashions a riveting blend of history, religion, and horror in this briskly paced series opener...The author balances his ferocious imagination with historical passion...A masterful historical fantasy that informs as well as enthralls."

– Kirkus Reviews about Goddess Chosen

"Jay Hartlove has fused several genres in a driving narrative sparkling with historical exotica. I recommend you buy this crazy novel."
- John Shirley, Bram Stoker Award winner about Goddess 
Chosen

 

"Jay Hartlove is a master at his craft! Doling out the facts in small, but tantalizing morsels, he finds a way to raise the "woo-woo" factor, keep the tension high while blending science, science fiction, ancient beliefs and religions in Asia! His style is intense and confident as he balances multiple genres once again in this riveting piece of creative genius!"

- Dii, Amazon Top 1000 Reviewer about Goddess Daughter

"Jay Hartlove's world of magic, madness and suspense comes to a climax with a boom, not a bang in "Goddess Rising." The Isis trilogy reaches new heights while keeping rooted in the creative depth and character development of the first two books. A fun, fast paced read!" 

- Jason Stewart, The Last Words of Robert Johnson and Other Tales about Goddess Rising 

Unique Visitors

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2020 by Jay Hartlove. Proudly created with Wix.com

The Mirror's Revenge

Musical soundtrack album cover

Go to link